PDA

View Full Version : Trip timing?

ibigler5
11-21-2008, 02:28
So i am looking to do a part or all of the AT. I have never done any of it before and am looking forward to it. I am a 5'10 male about 170lbs and am in fairly good shape ( i played varsity lacrosse for 4 years). I am looking to start sometime around the end of April or later. Can anyone tell me a good game plan for this hike i.e sobo or nobo and what date?
Thanks

Marta
11-21-2008, 08:01
Welcome to Whiteblaze!

It really depends on what works best for you. Physically you should be able to manage a late-starting NOBO, or if you want to delay starting until June or July, a SOBO.

Do you have a deadline you need to finish by? Do you have any hiking experience, and have all your equipment pulled together, or would you benefit from having some time to make some short practice trips before you start?

ibigler5
11-21-2008, 10:40
I'd like to finish by earlt to mid September. I've never done an over night backpacking trip, but I do hike a little. I have yet to finish purchase all of my gear. And I plan to start my practice trip in february. One of the problems i'm having with my gear is the mess kit. I really like the dualist, but is that a good mess kit?

Lone Wolf
11-21-2008, 10:46
start the last week of april and go NOBO from springer. that gives you 5 months to get to katahdin. you gotta like walkin'. it's just walkin'. have fun

KG4FAM
11-21-2008, 11:01
One of the problems i'm having with my gear is the mess kit. I really like the dualist, but is that a good mess kit?Are you hiking with another person because that is way too much for one person. You only need one pot that you eat out of as well. The dualist weighs 19 oz just for pots. If you like it why not look at the soloist that weighs half that.

Blissful
11-21-2008, 14:43
Should be able to finish by Oct starting in late April,, NOBO. You have youth on your side. Go for it.

Bare Bear
11-21-2008, 18:02