PDA

View Full Version : questions for my students

almostolen
11-22-2008, 19:48
I'm a teacher currently planning my hike for next summer. I'm trying to come up with some questions that I can ask my students that are math/science related to my planning. Here is what I have so far, but if you have any questions, please post and let me know. Also, I know that I have set a very difficult standard for me to hike the whole trail in 78 days. I don't need any down talk on that, but more advice for making my hike successful.. Thanks

Appalachian Trail Facts

Length by Section
Georgia-North Carolina

North Carolina-Tennessee

Southwest Virginia

Central Virginia

Shenandoah National Park

Northern Virginia-West Virginia-Maryland

Pennsylvania

New Jersey-New York

Connecticut-Massachusetts

Vermont-New Hampshire

Maine

Total Miles:

Trip Start Date: June 7, 2009
Estimated Trip End Date: August 23, 2009
Total number of days on trail: 78
Average number of miles each day 28.4

How many days will it take to get from Georgia to North Carolina? 6
On what day would he be at the Georgia/North Carolina Border? June 12

How many days will it take to get from North Carolina to Tennessee? 10
On what day would he be at the North Carolina/Tennessee border? June 23

How many days will it take to get from Tennessee to Shenandoah National Park? 15
On what days would he be walking through Shenandoah National Park? July 12-15

How many days will it take to get from Shenandoah National Park to Maryland? 7

In what trail section is the middle of the trip? Northern Virginia-West Virginia-Maryland

How many days will it take to get from Maryland to Pennsylvania? 8
On what day will he arrive at the Maryland/Pennsylvania border? July 15

Mr. Lucia plans on meeting his parents on the border of Pennsylvania and New Jersey. On what day should he tell his parents to expect to meet him there? It would take 46 days, so he would arrive there around July 22nd.