PDA

View Full Version : Advice Please

Tweedledee
04-03-2004, 00:03
I'm just wondering what kind of occupations some thru-hikers have. I graduated from college in August with a degree in biology. Currently I am serving as an AmeriCoprs *VISTA member. While I really enjoy the work that I am doing, I do not have a lot of money coming in at this time, so I find it difficult to plan when I might be able to do the AT. It is an aspiration of mine, but I was wondering how long it takes to save enough money and plan such an endeavor. Also, do you have to actually quit your job of employment during your hike or are employers pretty willing to let you have some time off to do something so wonderful?
I have worked at a GS camp for the past four years during the summers, and have grown to love backpacking and teaching the basics of the skill to young girls. While I have done this, I don't have the time usually to get to do too many other backpacking trips, so any thoughts and ideas are very much welcomed.
Thanks

Dudeboard
04-03-2004, 00:37
I'm just wondering what kind of occupations some thru-hikers have.
Here's a thread where everyone touts their advanced degrees and tries to out-schmuck each other.

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=4178&highlight=curious

zammy
04-03-2004, 10:53
I shut down my buisness before leaving (it is ws slow anyway, like the rest of economy here, now, in Israel), Urban planning.
When I return, the new ME will think of something...

Spirit Walker
04-03-2004, 22:59
A lot of AT hikers are at transition points in their lives. If they leave a job, it's because they are ready for something new. A few people are able to go back to the jobs they held before the trail, but probably the majority end the hike without a sure job to go back to.