PDA

View Full Version : Let's talk about digital pictures

Bulldawg
12-07-2008, 21:27
Since it is apparently illegal here to talk about anything other than the OP, I decided to start a thread about digital pictures.

I am a prolific photographer. I might take 8-10 pictures per mile if the views are there. I often return from overnighters with 100-200 pictures. I also take a lot of pictures of my kids and the things they do. Now, I don't want to print every single picture I take. Some I do like to have printed, others I just want to be able to use in slideshows, make desktops, screen savers, etc.

Now lots of people print all their photos to keep from losing them. But what I do is use two mirrored Terabyte servers. They are mirrors of each other and I have NO FEAR whatsoever of losing my pictures. Digital images don't degrade over time as many photos will. JPEG has been the industry standard for years and I don't see it changing without backward capability for those billions of JPEG files out here.

So, what do the rest of y'all do?

greentick
12-07-2008, 21:32
burn each hike's pics to CD and distribute to everyone on the hike. Then I have a few sources of backup. I dont take as many as you but still end up with a couple of hundred.

Bulldawg
12-07-2008, 21:34
Well, a previous poster on another thread suggested that CDs rot. Apparently at a rate much higher than a photo rots. I don't know. I used to burn photos to DVDs. But when you factor in the time, I still like the double backup method I have.

Does anyone know if CDs or DVDs really rot?

taildragger
12-07-2008, 21:41
I don't think rot is a good technical term, but like any source of memory, I assume that there is some corruption over time.

Personally, I like to keep my pictures in a raw format. I'll change the format to JPEG, or JPEG2000 when needed, until then, I'll keep it in an uncompressed form as long as I can in order to ensure full quality.

Bulldawg
12-07-2008, 21:42