PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Altimeter Settings

sakkit
04-08-2004, 19:17
I just got a Suunto Vector and am trying to get the correct altitude. I have a topo map of my area and my home setting is 135ft. I did a hike this a.m. to the top of a hill with a fire look-out tower on it. The topo map has this at 486ft. My final number at the top was over 1000ft. I followed the insturctions for the watch. So I was wondering if the settings need to be at zero before I start my hike. Is there another way of setting the watch? This is my first time with a toy of this kind. Thanks.
sakkit :confused:

rickb
04-08-2004, 19:45
What does you watch read now?

Weather changes can affect the reading-- after all your watch is nothing more than a barometer.

In my experience (with a Casio) its best to calibrate the watch to a known altitude the same day you are going to use it. That's usually frequent enough, but there are times where you would need to recalibrate a few times durring the day.

It should be quite accurate if not a lot of time has passed since you set it to a known altitude.

Rick B

sakkit
04-09-2004, 07:01
[QUOTE=rickboudrie]What does you watch read now?

The reading is 40ft.

sakkit

rickb
04-09-2004, 09:03
And whats it read now?

The number isn't so important. Point is, the reading will change even if you are sitting still. A change of 100 feet over a day or two (or even a few hundred feet) simply means that your watch is working (barometric presure is not a constant).