PDA

View Full Version : newbie question about water filter /iodine

wilconow
04-08-2004, 23:18
no this isnt a filter/not to filter question..but a question from a complete novice

im reading the backpacker's handbook by Chris Townsend and he seems to feel that iodine tablets are the best way to go. mentions the poor taste but says they have neutralizer tablets that make the water taste better ( i see REI has that)

barely even talks about filters - says they clog up

my question is why is there a market for filters? if the tablets work fine, you save money, weight, time..

thank you.

hungryhowie
04-08-2004, 23:54
Reasons to filter (rather than iodine).

-Filters are instant. Sure, you have to pump the water, but you could pump it right into your mouth if you wanted (I've actually done this). Iodine takes time (typically 20-30 minutes) to treat the water before it's safe to drink.

-Filters, especially those with activated charcoal cores, make all water taste the same. Iodine has a strong taste that takes some getting used to. Citric Acid (Vit C) will neutralize both the color and the taste...but not completely.

-There are no known or suspected health problems concerning the use of filters. Excess Iodine is associated with thyroid problems and as a result, many leaders in the backpacking industry have shied away from recommending it.

I prefer chemical treatment. I use Aqua Mira now, however, not Iodine. Aqua Mira has no taste (that I can discern, some have said it has a SLIGHT citrus taste...but not to me), does not discolor water, and has no known related health problems. It is Chlorine Dioxide, the same chemicals used to treat many municiple water sources around the country and world. Chances are that if you've drunk tap water in the US, you've had water treated with it at some point in it's travels.

Of course, like any chemical treatment, it still takes about 20-30 minutes to treat the water effectively.

Liquid for thought...

-Howie

Happy
04-09-2004, 00:09