PDA

View Full Version : Big Agnes sleep system

CaptChaos
12-11-2008, 23:37
As many of you know I have been hiking the Cades Cove area in the Smokies for the last 10 years. As my age increases I find myself dealing with my pack, sleeping bag, etc., and wanting to cut the weight so that I can keep dragging myself up the mountain a little while longer.

Here is my issue. I want to shed the weight of my equipment and I am looking at some new equipment but right now I want to focus on my sleeping bag and pad.

I do must of my hiking during the late spring, summer and fall. I never have liked winiter camping so I never do it.

I want to find a new sleeping bag. I was thinking along the line of a 40 or 30 degree bag since I like to camp in the mountains. My problem is that I am a side sleeper and since I have gained about 75 pounds since my college days I find that I just can't get enough support on my hips and I toss and turn all night long. I am not a back sleeper and being cold in a bag has never been an issue for me.

I tried laying on a Big Agnes pad the other day at REI and it felt like it would keep my hips off the ground. I wanted to hear from the group if any of you use the Big Agnes system and what you like and dislike about the product.

I am thinking maybe a mummy bag with an insulated blow up tube pad.

Looking forward to all of the experienced knowledge of the group on this subject. If you have any suggestions I would like to hear them as well.

John :-?

corialice81
12-11-2008, 23:40
I have a big agnes insulated air core pad that I used through Maine this year.

Pros: excellent sleep each night, kept off the cool ground, packs small

Cons: every evening it took 5 mins to blow up and you have to blow it up by mouth, got a little light headed at first, weights 2 lbs, got a leak and had to be replaced at one point (replacement works just fine)

skinewmexico
12-12-2008, 00:47