PDA

View Full Version : Mike's Hike Update

mhanson
12-18-2008, 07:38
Dear Fellow White Blaze Subscribers:

Many of you already know me, for those that do not, my name is Mike Hanson. I have been completely blind since birth and will start a northbound through-hike of the AT in March. I will be using only a white cane (or trekking poles) and GPS to navigate my way.

My original start date was March 2008 but was postponed a year due to a lack of funding. My story has previously sparked lively debate on this site and I am looking forward to fellow White Blazers additional input and suggestions. I was planning to update my story here later this month but when I heard about the Saturday Night Live skit which ridiculed N.Y. Governor Patterson's blindness I was moved to contact you as soon as possible.

In spite of my blindness I have a law degree and passed the bar exam on my first attempt (I also have a bachelors degree in psychology and a masters in speech-language pathology). As governor Patterson mentioned, only 29% of those with visual impairments are employed. Even with my extensive education all I have been able to find is a piecework telemarketing job out of my home. I am glad to have it because it is work but it represents just one of the many tremendous obstacles I've had to deal with and have had to work to overcome as a blind man in this culture.

A significant part of the problem is perceptions such as presented by SNL which show individuals with visual impairments as bumbling, confused incompetents, we not only have nothing to offer society but need to be taken care of even around managing simple tasks. These perceptions and myths are tremendous "obstacles" that the visually impaired person experiences as profoundly discouraging and often overwhelming. Despair and a sense of hopelessness is not an unusual response to this ocean of misunderstanding. I have had my share of these dark times.