PDA

View Full Version : MSR Hyperflow issues...

Worldwide
12-28-2008, 13:49
I have been using the MSR hyperflow for the past 7 months, and I have had several issues. Here are my experiences.

1. MSR reccomends to backflush every 8 liters or everyday... they should say whichever comes first. If you dont backflush every 4 liters this item is more tempermental than usual.

2. It is rated for 3 liters / minute. This couldn't be farther from the truth. I would love to see an outfitter get 3 liters / minute in the store let alone in the field.

3. During the backflushing the filter tends to vapor lock necessitating taking the filter apart completely to then restart the backflush procedure. ( I now start the backflush process with prefiltered water in the pumping cylinder ) This works sometimes not always.

If anyone has come up with a fix for this please reply and let MSR know too they are still in the dark about a fix for this

Peace Out

Worldwide

P.S. When you call MSR they say there are known issues with the pump then request you to send it back for evaluation. Meaning say by to filtered water for 3 weeks. For people that hike 200+ days a year that isnt a realistic option while hiking the horse manure field of GSMNP. MSR knows this thing is junk yet won't refund peoples money to buy a competing operational filter. Replacing the existing non working items in my pump with the same new non functioning parts that are on their shelves then sending it back won't exactly be a fix. Replacing the whole thing isn't worth my time since ti will be the same crapola I received the first time around. This thing is sincerely the biggest piece of crap on the shelves of outfitters all along the AT be forewarned.

KG4FAM
12-28-2008, 14:27
yep, everybody that I have met on the trail using it hates theirs as well.

take-a-knee
12-28-2008, 14:40
Yes, and thanks to WB posters, I never dropped a C-note on a hyperclog. This is what I went with: