PDA

View Full Version : Merrell hiking vote

Tudor
01-04-2009, 12:33
I am a huge Merrell shoe/boot fan. I am curious as to the mileage others have gotten with any style Merrell on the AT. It seems mine seem to last longer hiking than casual living.

I had a pair of chameleon's last all of Maine and part of New Hampshire and also 3 months of casual living before I retired them, on the other hand I have a pair of CT marquis' that are falling apart after only 3 months of casual living, no hiking.

Sly
01-04-2009, 12:37
I like Merrell too. They seem to fit me the best. I've been wearing trail shoes for years but due to an ankle injury I just got a new pair of lightweight Merrell boots at REI. Haven't tried them yet.

StarLyte
01-04-2009, 12:56
I wear men's Merrells-my flat feet like the wideness of the toe area.

I'm about due for my new pair though, I've been wearing these sectioning since 2006 :)

Cookerhiker
01-04-2009, 13:17
I bought my first Merrells last September halfway through my Long Trail end-to-end hike (http://www.trailjournals.com/entry.cfm?id=204987). I cut down my mileage the first 2 days because the boots were pinching my toes but that was all it took for break-in; by the third day, I was striding and since then, I've had no problems.

As to mileage, I've only hiked about 300 miles with them but they seem durable.

Serial 07
01-04-2009, 14:03
merrills...i love my pair...wore same style from springer to damascus before i bought a trail runner, but i bet'cha i coulda gotten at least another couple hundred out of'em...good shoe...

Blue Jay
01-04-2009, 18:47
The only shoe I wear on the trail or off.

Kaptain Kangaroo
01-04-2009, 20:21
Yep, Merrell's are great. I wore Mesa Ventilator II's on my thru & they lasted 1200 miles, & then only changed them as the sole was getting a little soft.... otherwise they probably would have done another 500-600.
They have discontinued this style though :(
good fit & well made.

Cheers,

Kaptain

SouthMark