PDA

View Full Version : Total Noob looking to be schooled

inavacuum
01-05-2009, 00:25
Hey guys.

I've done a lot of family camping and outdoor living. I've only been backpacking once and I was younger so I don't really know anything about planning it and gear and what not. Lately I've been getting more and more interested in doing some backpacking trips. I just need some advice on selecting gear. All that I have at this point is a Kelty vortex 2 tent, an REI Morning Star pack, some no name bag thats rated to 20 degrees and a bunch of heavy, bulky base camping gear. I need some serious advice in buying cooking stuff, jackets/apparel, and possibly upgrading my pack and bag. I plan on doing some short 3-5 day trips as soon as I can get a better understanding of what I'm doing. As far as footwear I'm a Chaco freak. I can't stand wearing anything else, especially when I'm outdoors. Is this a wise choice or should I check out something else? Please steer me in the right direction. Everybody at my local outfitter just wants me to dump out my wallet on the counter and get the latest most expensive gear and that is simply not an option for me.

inavacuum
01-05-2009, 00:26
I meant to add, my dog will be accompanying me. What can I expect to need for her?

Cool AT Breeze
01-05-2009, 00:29
Reasearch your gear here. Be patient and and check out ebay,thrift shops and on line deals. Have fun and good luck.

dudeijuststarted
01-05-2009, 00:44