PDA

View Full Version : question for the winter hiking experts about snowshoes

DavidNH
01-09-2009, 14:29
i have been considering getting a pair of MSR lightening snowshoes. I like the fact that they are metal with teeth all around and have very flexible bindings. Also most reviews I have read seem to be good.

My question is do I really need the 30 inch bindings or could I get buy on 25? I weigh over 250 lbs before my gear. But here in NH we rarely get feet of powder.. usually more dense and crusty and often packed down from other hikers.

Also, Any one have any experience with these snowshoes? anything negative to say about them other than the high price? Any other models to recommend that would be just as good for winter hiking in the White Mountains? Also, while I want to go up mountains, I am still a novice winter hiker and don't tackle the real serious stuff (like the Presies or Franconia Ridge).

All input appreciated.

Thanks,

David

DavidNH
01-09-2009, 14:30
well since I can't edit.. here is a clarification post.

Do I really need the 30 inch bindings? meant to refer to snowshoes not bindings.

TunnelvisionGAME09
01-09-2009, 14:39
I thoroughly enjoy my lightnings. I have used them to trek into camp with all my gear, but then set up camp and play around free of the weight. I can't say what length you would want, I would check with someone at an EMS or something - they would have more knowledge of length requirements in regards to what your pack weight would be. If you're planning on any steep ascents, the televator is a great asset!
I can't think of any negatives. When looking at price, I got mine at an LL Bean outlet for half the price, so that might be a place to look now that Christmas returns are coming in.

Lyle
01-09-2009, 14:47
Are these plastic like MSR's other snowshoes? If they are, they will be very noisy. That's the main reason I've never considered MSR's.

Deadeye
01-09-2009, 14:53