PDA

View Full Version : Section Hike: NY or NJ? NOBO or SOBO?

gregor
01-13-2009, 09:19
I live in the NYC area and am planning on section hiking a part of the AT this summer. I'm trying to pick which section to do and would like any advise people have to offer. I've day hiked on parts of the AT in both states, and done a few overnights but not on the AT. This will be my first time staying at any of the shelters. I'm not time crunched really, but would like to plan for 5-7 days on the trail.

Just would like my first extended experience on the trail to be the best. I'll probably end up doing whatever state i don't do, either later on in the summer, or the next week i get off work (i'm a teacher)

Any and all help is appreciated.

gsingjane
01-13-2009, 09:52
Hi Gregor, one really fun thing to do might be to start out on a weekend and take the Metro North train up to the Appalachian Trail stop and start hiking south. (The reason I say the weekend is because the train only stops there on the weekends.) You could travel through some really pretty areas, Fahnestock, Bear Mtn. and the rest of NY. I'm not sure how long it would take you, I think you could get pretty far south into NJ if you hiked along, but that could be a really cool thing to do. Now Bear Mtn. is going to be somewhat crowded right around the Inn area and up and over the mountain itself, but nothing that would last for more than a few hours, and it might be a nice diversion anyway. I'd also suggest staying one night at the grounds of the Greymoor Monastery in NY on this trip. It should be great!

Jane in CT

burger
01-13-2009, 10:04