PDA

View Full Version : New To The AT.. FIRST TIMERR!

Alyssa1
01-13-2009, 15:23
ill be graduating in june from high school and im looking forwaard to college but before i go id like to do a section hike, maybe be out there for about a month. i have never done this before and i am new to this site. i have no idea where to start, what to bring or anyting about gear... help, help help me pleasee!

KG4FAM
01-13-2009, 15:27
Well what time frame are you working with? What kind of gear do you already have if any? How much budget do you have for the rest of your gear?

Alyssa1
01-13-2009, 15:33
i need a back pack and pretty much everything... im looking to go for about a month. my dad backpacks- he sent me to use this site to get some advide so he can provide me with basic things that he has extra of. ill need a sleeping bag shoes clothes.. alot. im looking to go with cheaper stuff, but i know somethings are kind of pricey and im willing to pay pretty much what i have to, thanks.:)

Captain
01-13-2009, 15:36
im going to give you the best advice you will ever receive...ready?..... RUN get out NOW these people are CRAZY! It is too late for me i drank their brain washing juice and now i want to cook with PAINT THINNER, make myself HOMELESS for 6 MONTHS NOT to mention the initiation oh god that was horrible! i will be forever quivering after the things they did with that monkey and the-- OH NO they are coming for me! NO im not ready yet YOU CANT MAKE ME GO, YOU... you must get my messege out to my wife....tell her...i ....said....hello......

jersey joe
01-13-2009, 15:41
Start with obtaining the "big four"... Tent, Sleeping Bag, Sleeping Pad, Backpack. The temperature rating of your sleeping bag will depend on what season you plan to go backpacking.

Lone Wolf
01-13-2009, 15:43
footwear should be one of the 4

superman
01-13-2009, 15:48