PDA

View Full Version : PA hike

coolnessisuncool
01-18-2009, 18:32
Im planning a short hike in april for the first time for a "practice run" for a longer hike i plan on doing later in the year. im pretty new to this but very interested and willing. Im going to start at Pine Grove Furnace in PA and just hike north for about 9 days. Any info or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Cookerhiker
01-18-2009, 18:50
:welcomeWelcome to WhiteBlaze. April is a very rewarding time to hike. Of course, you may have some rain but otherwise, you should see wildflowers and enjoy views from the ridgetops since the leaf canopy will just be emerging.

If you hike 10 miles per day, your hike will end at Rt. 501. 12 miles per day will take you to Port Clinton. I don't know how hard set you are at starting at Pine Grove Furnace SP. If you start at Caledonia on Rt. 30, you'll find a long pleasant and easy stretch all the way to Pine Grove Furnace after the initial ascent in first few miles.

You'll hike through Duncannon where Trail Angel Mary can help you if needed. She's a big AT hiker fan and truly lives up to her name. She's also a WB member.

9 days is a lot of food to carry. Are you going to resupply? If so, Duncannon is a good place to do so. A useful resource is the ALDHA Companion. Here's the section covering Pennsylvania (http://www.aldha.org/companyn/wv-pa08.pdf).

Have a great hike!

Yahtzee
01-18-2009, 18:52
Just off the top off my head. Resupply may be difficult along this stretch. Duncannon, Port Clinton, Palmerton, all require a short trip to get to food.

Pine Grove to Duncannon is fairly easy. Great stretch to get your trail legs. Even the stretch from Duncannon to Swatara Water Gap is fairly forgiving. Just a couple of ups, mostly flat and not too much rock. That would take up your first 80 miles.

Convenient stopping pts would be :
Pine Grove, Pa -- 91 miles 10.1 miles/day or
Port Clinton, Pa -- 115 miles 12.8 miles/day.