PDA

View Full Version : New TN/NC ATC Guidebook

Tennessee Viking
01-22-2009, 00:02
I heard that the new 13th edition of the ATC TN/NC guidebook should be out now or any day now. Has anyone seen it yet?

Hikes in Rain
01-22-2009, 06:35
Haven't checked this morning, but as of 8:00 last night it still wasn't available. Back orders were due to start shipping 1/20, but the website hadn't changed.

Stands to reason it would change, just as I finished sectioning the Smokies (took a year and a half to get through there. I'm trying to set a new record.) and this April or May I'm just starting to use my old set I've been drooling over for two years. Maybe I'll just buy the maps and hope the relocation aren't that severe. My non-hiking wife mentioned using a set to track my (lack of) progress.

Hikes in Rain
01-22-2009, 07:24
*sigh* Wouldn'tcha know it, they DID change the website overnight! Now available. (https://www.atctrailstore.org/catalog/iteminfo.cfm?itemid=62&compid=1)

Hikes in Rain
01-22-2009, 07:28
My mistake, I don't have my contacts in yet. That link is to the new updated Ga/NC guide. NC/TN still not available.

Hikes in Rain
02-08-2009, 12:33
...and the new maps are clutched in my sweaty little hands. So far, I've only looked closely at the section between Sam's Gap and I-40, since that's the section I plan to take in late April or early May, and it's never too early to obsess, er, plan. :sun

As far as I can see, there aren't too many relocations or revisions in that section. I did notice:

Rice Creek Road no longer goes through Rice Gap? I assume it's been abandoned or is otherwise impassible there. Does anyone know for sure?