PDA

View Full Version : REI Quarter Dome T2

RaoulDuke
01-24-2009, 02:19
Can anyone recommend this item over other top name brands?

I'm hiking Harpers Ferry > Katahdin in April and need a good tent. Others that I have looked into are Seedhouse SL2, Hubba Hubba, and Clip Flashlight.

I would like to buy name brand, and don't mind spending a LITTLE extra money, but the cost of the foot print is ridiculous on the other tents. REI footprint is only $20 compared to Seedhouse which is $50. Weight is definitely a factor for me as well. 4lbs is the highest I am willing to go. I'm trying to stick to a low-cost budge, but am willing to spend $ on tent and backpack(gregory Z65).

Also, I am a complete newb. Weekend backpacking and car camping only. So any help, tips, suggestions is much appreciated.

skinewmexico
01-24-2009, 02:49
I've got a T3, and I'm really happy with it. If you watch, it's pretty easy to catch REI having a 20% off sale. As far as footprints, I wouldn't waste the money on a high dollar, heavy factory footprint, unless you need it to set up with a footprint and fly only. Just get a piece of Tyvek, and cut it to fit. If weight is definitely a factor, you could sure save some with a different pack, like a Osprey Exos 58. Or some pretty good closeouts (with another 20% off) on REI outlet.

Rain Man
01-24-2009, 08:59
I have the T2 and love it. SO MUCH head and shoulder room compared to all my other tents. I don't have any that you mention, though, so can't compare directly.

I definitely have the REI footprint, because I love the option of leaving the tent body at home whenever bugs are not a problem, and setting up only the rainfly and footprint, and saving all that weight.

The T line of tents take just a little getting used to, with their unique pole design, but once you get it, it's a snap and you'll love the extra roominess. Also, I really like having two doors and two vestibules.

Rain:sunMan

GeneralLee10
01-24-2009, 11:25