PDA

View Full Version : Big Agnes tent suggestions.

anacondatm
01-27-2009, 01:10
Hey - I'm looking to pickup a Big Agnes tent in the coming weeks and was hoping for a little advice.

I'm pretty much down to the Seedhouse SL, or the Emerald Mountain SL and then from there, either one or two man in size. I'm pretty sure the one man is big enough - however i'm curious to know if anyone has found it too small? Any comparisons on which is easier to setup of the two tents?

All in all i've seen great reviews of these two tents. Pound for pound and total floor space, it's tops. Are there any downsides?

Any help would be great!

gearfreak
01-27-2009, 07:45
I've been using a Seedhouse SL2 for a couple of years and absolutely love it. The SL 1 is too confining for my tastes. The difference in weight is worth having the ability to bring my pack inside when the weather is foul but not giving up any space. :cool:

Montana Mac
01-27-2009, 08:07
The SL2 is the tent of my choice for the reasons Gearfreak listed. My brother did a lot of research and the sq ft : weight ratio was the best for the SL2

skinewmexico
01-27-2009, 10:05
The 1 person I saw at REI reminded me of a coffin.

RITBlake
01-27-2009, 10:17
How tall are you?

I own, use, and love the SL-1. I actually set it up in my apartment last to clean the cobwebs out for an upcoming trip and forgot how easy it is to pop up. You can have it up in 90 seconds and it holds up great in the weather.

I'm 6' tall and I can sit up in the tent and when I'm lying flat there is still enough room at the end of the tent to stow gear.

For the average backpacker it should be plenty of room. The vestibule is big enough for boots and a internal frame pack (I use mine as a sleeping pad)

Good luck.

Hey - I'm looking to pickup a Big Agnes tent in the coming weeks and was hoping for a little advice.