PDA

View Full Version : Food

ibigler5
02-01-2009, 17:13
Can you guys provide me with some examples of the food (and how much) you start the trail with?

Hikes in Rain
02-01-2009, 17:35
I usually start with a Lipton/Knorr side (I'm eyeing the ones with veggies) and one of the pouched meats. Add some pepper, cheese of appropriate source if it seems good. That's generally dinner. Breakfast, I like cheese grits, with bacon bits and more cheese. Or a bagel with summer sausage and cheese. Lunch I either skip if I'm just starting out and my appitite hasn't kicked in, or some trail mix or summer sausage and cheese. (I really like sausage and cheese, but because of the fats, I generally only eat it when I hike. Once a year, maybe? *sigh*)

SGT Rock
02-01-2009, 17:58
For 3 days food:

6 packs grits.
6 breakfast bars
9 coffee singles
9 Snicker bars
1 bag of jerky (4 oz)
1 bag of gorp (6 oz)
1 summer sausage
1 bag of tortillas
1 package of minestrone soup
1 zip lock of instant potatoes
1 bag of cheese singles
3 liptons
1 box instant pudding
6 tea bags various blends
4 ounces olive oil
1 bottle tobasco
2 ounces parmesan cheese
3 packages of ramen
6 packets of drink mix

Gaiter
02-01-2009, 18:29
look through the cooking and food section
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=51

Tennessee Viking
02-01-2009, 20:28
I think Sarge has it down to a science.

I have been learning to go with anything that is light, compact, and long shelf life. Dehydrated meals, soup mixes, astronaut icecream, sport drink powder, ramen noodles, crackers, fruit/nutrition bars, jerky, trail mix....and supply of storage bags.

Stay away from canned goods. Those will be heavy and hard to pack unless you got the room.

Some hikers will pack meats and veggies one their first day after a resupply.

I love the dehydrated eggs and bacon, and astronaut ice cream sandwiches.

Kanati
02-01-2009, 23:06
For 3 days food:

6 packs grits.
6 breakfast bars
9 coffee singles
9 Snicker bars
1 bag of jerky (4 oz)