PDA

View Full Version : Are Alcohol Stoves for beginners

Jayboflavin04
02-01-2009, 17:20
I'm a newbie. Have a little backpacking experience, but not in the cooking department. I plan on purchasing a Feather Fire alky stove. Seems to me that using a alky stove takes some experience, and limits your food selection. Pasta and rice dishes takes 15 min (from cold to boil to cook). Do alky stoves burn long enought to do any fancier type cooking. I have read that this feather fire burns for about 30min on 2oz (simmer mode) Dont like the idea of a canister stove until they can refill em.

SGT Rock
02-01-2009, 17:23
It depends on what you want to do. You can simmer on them if you use the right kind. And no, it ain't for "pros" as boyscouts can make and use these on their first trip.

My suggestion is to try making one and play with it. If you fiddle with one for a while you may find it meets your needs and you can make it for free. If it doesn't meet your needs, then you can start trying to figure out what stove you need to buy to do so.

Hikes in Rain
02-01-2009, 17:28
I think they'd do just fine with beginners. I could use my first attempt (Super cat stove I made in about five minutes) the first time, with no trouble. When hiking, I do mostly the rice and pasta dishes you'd mentioned (albeit with considerably faster times than you indicate), and you can get some pretty fine eating with just those. At home I do a lot of pretty elaborate cooking, and I can see doing that on an alcohol stove, too, although after a long hike, I'm not all that interested in elaborate techniques.

Smile
02-01-2009, 17:35
SGT. ROCK had great suggestions about fiddling around with one. I don't think there are any stoves that would fall into a beginner/experienced type situation with hiking. Like any new piece of gear, you have to get to know it, and how to use it properly - something one does before the hike, not once you get out there.