PDA

View Full Version : Looking for "testrun" advice

Aladoor
02-04-2009, 10:15
Hi, there!
I hope this is the right forum for this!
I am planning on attempting a Through-Hike in 2010. Never done anything like this before, always wanted to do it, never had time/energy, you know the drill. But, finally it is getting serious (work is informed, financial planning is on the way, etc.).
Still, there is a final concern left. As mentioned I have never done anything similar before. Yes, I have hiked for 2 or 3 days or been dayhiking. I am working out and are in ok-shape. But, I already had three surgeries on my right knee and I am currently undergoing treatment on said knee. The docs say I should be ok but they cannot tell for sure.
So, I decided that I want to do a "testrun" this May/June for about two weeks on the trail. I want to get a climpse of what I have to expect next year, get a feeling for amount of food I am gonna need, test equipment and most of all test my knee. I am aware that 2 weeks will not prepare me for a through-hike but it is a start. And I figure, if my knee will not be able to handle 2 weeks than 6 months do not make much sense.

Anyways, what I am looking for is advice on where to go for those 2 weeks this year. I am looking for a place that is easily accesible (I am flying in from Germany), gives you a hint of what the trail is like and leads to a point where I can leave the trail after about 2 weeks and get to an airport without too much trouble.
My first intention was to fly to Atlanta and start from there as this is what I am planning to do next year. I got the Through-Hikers Guide from 2008 as a planning tool and some other information as well.

I am really looking forward to going on the trail and hope some of You can help me with my questions!
Thank You in advance for Your answers!

So long, Aladoor

MOWGLI
02-04-2009, 10:22