PDA

View Full Version : GPS files for thru hike

atlskw
02-08-2009, 10:17
Hello all,
Does anyone have the GPS data files I could load on my new Garmin Oregon 400t ? I would like to thru hike the BMT going S to N and then take the AT back making a figure eight. I found MR. Parkay's Google earth file but he mentions its not that accurate. Just wondering if anyone has the actual file that they made during their hikes.
Any help would be greatly appreciated
Thanks and get out and hike.
Scott

SGT Rock
02-08-2009, 11:34
I really don't think you need a GPS for that trail.

atlskw
02-08-2009, 18:58
Sgt
I understand but I am a tech geek who loves to look at data. Its always fun to go over it when I get back and analyze it. So thats why I am looking for it. I really bought the GPS for the Bike across the USA I will do when I am done with the hike. I am making the best of the current economic situation as I got laid off so now I am doing stuff I want till I have to work again. So any help would be great.
I used your web site for some gear suggestions already so thank you
Scot

SGT Rock
02-08-2009, 18:59
Your welcome scott. As far as I know Mr Parkay has the best set of data.

FWIW - I helped a lost pair of hikers last year that were out on the BMT with a GPS but no map. They got in an area with a lot of ATV trails and got way screwed up.

atlskw
02-08-2009, 19:11
Oh Don't worry I don't leave home without paper maps. I just like to get to know my GPS and how to use the new ones.

SGT Rock
02-08-2009, 19:14
There have been a few recently completed relocations - so some of the data is wrong - as are most of the BMTA maps they put out.

take-a-knee
02-08-2009, 20:50
There have been a few recently completed relocations - so some of the data is wrong - as are most of the BMTA maps they put out.

So a lot of the trail descriptions in Tim Homan's BMT book no longer apply?

SGT Rock
02-08-2009, 20:51