PDA

View Full Version : Flying In To Atl

q-tip
02-10-2009, 08:03
I will be arriving in Atl airport the morning of March 4th. How should I pack my gear for the flight??? I will also need to get stove fuel, will a shuttle allow for a quick stop at REI to stock up??? Any thoughts about first few days mileage, I have been training for 3 months but don't want to burn out in the first few days??? Thanks Much

rockdawg69
02-10-2009, 10:03
If you can find an outfitter or hostel near Dahlonega, or the shuttle service you plan to use, who will accept a UPS or FedEx package, I would reccomend shipping your full pack to them, minus the fuel of course. Ask and see what they can do for you. Saves the hassle of airport security and potential thefts in baggage transfer areas. And the shipping costs should not be much more than the bag fees some airlines are charging.
I use this method, especially when I'm done hiking and heading home.
Another possibility is to take AmTrak to Atlanta. You can carry your pack on-board with no hassles. Used this method last year when I finished NJ section and departed from NYC to GA.

rockdawg69
02-10-2009, 10:14
Okay - on the first few days question. You can do it. I planned for about 10 miles a day for the first week in 2007. Only problem I encounterd was we had 70s and 80s the last week of March and thirst was a heavy factor after the 3rd day for a few days. Still made about 10 per day and I did some training before hand - about 50 miles of hiking/backpacking with Scouts over various weekends.
If you are tenting/hammocking, suggest you go past Hawk Mtn shelter to Horse Gap for first day (10 miles from Springer). First 5 miles (approx) from Springer are essentially downhill. Carry extra water from Hawk Mtn. Reason - from Hawk Mtn to next water is 5 miles of short, rugged climbs. Horse gap camp cuts that to 3.5 miles, approx.

MOWGLI
02-10-2009, 10:22