PDA

View Full Version : Smokies: Other Trail Recommendations?

Stuart
05-11-2004, 22:57
As a teacher I'm looking at several months off and am planning several backpacking trips in or around the Smokies. Most of the backpacking/hiking I've done in the park has been around the 441/NewfoundGap Road corridor: Sugarland Mtn, Mt. Collins, Silars Bald, Mt. Leconte, Elkmont area, etc. I'm hoping to get in at least three good trips.

Trip #1 - AT from Fontana to Davenport, 5 days

Trip #2 - Cades Cove to Spence Field down Eagle Creek to 89; 89 to 83 via Lakeshore and Hazel Creek with a side trip up Bone Valley Trail (which interests me with the most remote historical structure in the park); 83 out to Cades Cove via Jenkins Ridge Trail <I'm really looking forward to this one>

For the third hike I'd like to either go to a part of the park I've never been such as th east side or maybe hike in a nearby national forest for about 3-4 days. Davenport to Hot Springs? Cataloochee?

Looking for recommendations?

Thanks for any advice.

Moon Monster
05-12-2004, 11:06
[QUOTE=Stuart]
For the third hike I'd like to either go to a part of the park I've never been such as th east side or maybe hike in a nearby national forest for about 3-4 days. Davenport to Hot Springs? Cataloochee?

[QUOTE]

I'm a fan of the Smokies, but there are some great places 30-50 miles east of the Tenn. border.