PDA

View Full Version : Bear Bagging

Chomp09
02-17-2009, 19:22
For those of you that do bear bag, how late into the year do you hang your food in the southern states? I am intending to hike south this year and am curious if there comes a point where the need becomes a non-issue. Thanks in advance for your on-topic thoughts and responses...:)

Hikes in Rain
02-17-2009, 20:29
Anytime between January 1 to December 31. Other dates are safe.

daddytwosticks
02-17-2009, 20:36
Dave, I'm no animal expert, but I'm pretty sure bears are active year round down in these parts (western NC mountains). Others will chime in if I'm wrong. Hang your food year round to be safe.

Chomp09
02-17-2009, 20:56
What, no hibernation? Do they not know they're bears? And BEARS hibernate during the winter. Now I suppose if there's technically no winter that would be an entirely different story. I guess that leads me to wonder what defines winter and the timing of any potential hibernation?

SGT Rock
02-17-2009, 21:00
I've only seen a bear once in the Smokies - it was running away. See more closed campsites around Cades Cove than up on the ridge. Last time I saw reported "bear activity" up on the AT around Icewater and Mt Collins - all I found up there was boar sign, not bear sign.

Marta
02-17-2009, 21:32
What, no hibernation? Do they not know they're bears? And BEARS hibernate during the winter. Now I suppose if there's technically no winter that would be an entirely different story. I guess that leads me to wonder what defines winter and the timing of any potential hibernation?

Back in late November, in the Smokies, I saw loads of bear prints in the snow. I guess they didn't get the memo about going into hibernation.

I think the problem is that down here the winter isn't wintery enough to put the bears to sleep.

Chomp09
02-17-2009, 21:46
Good to know, thanks for the quick input!

theinfamousj
02-17-2009, 22:16
If the bears aren't active, the raccoons sure are ...

Tennessee Viking