PDA

View Full Version : Fishing Big Creek?

flemdawg1
02-18-2009, 13:47
I was wondering if its worth it to pay $9 for a NC liscense, pack in a rod and do a lil' bank fishing btween the Th and Walnut Bottoms? Supposedly there's Rainbow and Brook Trout. Are they biting now? What kinda lures?

MOWGLI
02-18-2009, 13:50
Yes. Smallmouth Bass too. Bring a fly rod.

flemdawg1
02-18-2009, 13:59
But I don't have a fly rod, can I use a fly on a regular casting rod? I'm an obvious newb here.

Rasputen
02-18-2009, 15:25
I was wondering if its worth it to pay $9 for a NC liscense, pack in a rod and do a lil' bank fishing btween the Th and Walnut Bottoms? Supposedly there's Rainbow and Brook Trout. Are they biting now? What kinda lures?

Hey Flemdawg1,

Fly Fishing the backcountry of the GSM is my passion! It is absolutely worth it! Even if you get skunked. The cold water slowes down the metabolism of the trout(less feeding) during winter months, so depending on water temp it can be a great day or slow day on the water. Mid day after the sun has a chance to warm up the water a bit = more success! Stealth is a must. Fish up stream and stay low.

Single lure hooks are all that are permitted in the park. I don't use lures so I am no help here. Tennessee or NC license work throughout the park. No trout stamp needed.

Flies on casting rods do not work well. You can get a cheap fly rod but there is a learning curve and the rodo's loooove flies!!

Have a great time! There is nothing I love more than hiking and fly fishing the smokies backcountry. I'll be there in April......

Happy to answer any other questions. Good luck!!

sliderule
02-18-2009, 16:00
I don't use lures...

What do you use?

MOWGLI
02-18-2009, 16:15
What do you use?

flies

Rasputen
02-18-2009, 17:15
What do you use?

Yep, Flies. More specifically a Dry Fly.....

It really depends on the "hatch". My "go to" flies most of the year are Elk Hair Caddis, Parachute Adams, Cahill's, Blue Wing Olive's etc....