PDA

View Full Version : Some sobo questions

LTHotSauce
02-18-2009, 18:01
Hey everyone. I am new to whiteblaze and let me say this is a great place for information. Still, I have some questions for everyone.

First let me say that I am physically fit (and 22) and have done some backpacking before. I have army experience as well as one and a half weeks backpacking I spent in SNP last year. I will be traveling with 2 of my army buddies, both in excellent shape but with no backpacking experience, just a lot of army infantry experience. Now on to the questions.

1. Starting date. I am trying to hike the entire trail but due to military obligations imust be off the trail by november. I plan on skipping about 200 miles of trail that I have already hiked or will hike over spring break so I can meet that deadline. I am looking at starting arounf may 27th. Is the trail open then? Is it passable? And what is the weather like.

2. Gear. Will winter gear be needed or just layered fall gear (non-cotton long sleeve shirts, fleece, rain/wind gortex shell)?

3. Camping at baxter. The site says only two mail reservations per day. Is that two sites or two people total per day. All three of us would like to share a campsite with three tents.

4. Money on the trail. How much cash is normally carried?

5. Food until monson. According to the conpanion there doesn't look to be any good spot for food resupply onceat baxter. Do people then show up with 12 days of food (one for katahdin, one till abol bridge, 10 for the wilderness)?

I'm sure I will have more questions as I get closwr to leaving, but that is all for now. Thanks in advance for the help!

Phreak
02-18-2009, 18:05
5. Food until monson. According to the conpanion there doesn't look to be any good spot for food resupply onceat baxter. Do people then show up with 12 days of food (one for katahdin, one till abol bridge, 10 for the wilderness)?