PDA

View Full Version : First Light vs. Cloudburst II--Help

q-tip
02-23-2009, 23:07
I am starting my thru-hike on March 2nd, and I expect the temps at night to be in the low 20's-30's from GA into TN. Which tent should I bring for the first two months. I can use the Black Diamond First Light (3.2 lbs single wall 4 season) for 2 months then switch out to the Cloudburst II tarptent or just use the tarptent. I have a WM 15 degree down bag. Because I am starting slow, (old man at 52) I might be doing some more stealth camping early on and I prefer my tent to the shelters. I just watched 19 degree wind howling thru my tarptent while testing the seams and my beard froze. Any help is much appreciated.

ColdFire
02-23-2009, 23:39
Hello q-tip,

Given the 2 options I personally would choose the Cloudburst Tarptent handsdown. not only will it keep you warmer it will more importantly keep you dryer.

taildragger
02-23-2009, 23:48
^^^^

Agreed, take the cloudburst, I've been in fairly cool temps with mine and have been fine. Use the firstlight for western climbing or for more serious winter weather

Crawl
02-24-2009, 00:59
I third the cloudburst II..... was on the approach in OCT and high winds and cold weather, rain, didn't stop a great night sleep, it's a great tent! And just too easy to set up!

Lucy Lulu
02-24-2009, 07:40
I've not used the Cloudburst, but I used the Firstlight on the AT. In comparison to the Tarptent (Lunar Solo) I did have, the Firstlight definitely kept me warmer. It was also much easier to set up. Can't get much simpler than just quickly popping up a single walled tent with 2 poles. I did not often stake it out unless it was really windy.