PDA

View Full Version : Shelter rules

dhock83
03-02-2009, 21:45
I am new to thru hiking and just wandering what are the un-written rules of a shelter??

superman
03-02-2009, 21:49
You sound like a perfect volunteer to write formal and absolute rules for behavior in and around shelters.:D

SGT Rock
03-02-2009, 21:52
I don't think there is an agreed upon set of informal rules other than first come first serve.

CrumbSnatcher
03-02-2009, 21:54
alot of people think shelters suck! but not as much if its raining?

Tennessee Viking
03-02-2009, 21:55
I believe SNP only requires a permit. No reservations like the Smokies. There are fees for some its off-AT sites. Leashed dogs. And Graysons has some rules. Thomas Knob is listed as no campfires.

As a maintainer, there is pack out your trash, don't throw trash in privies, no graffiti or vandalism of the shelters. Hang your food whenever possible. Other than that, be respectful to other hikers.

bigcranky
03-02-2009, 21:59
Your questions is sort of like throwing red meat into a pack of hungry dogs.

2 rules of shelter etiquette:

1. Don't be a jerk.

2. Never forget rule #1.

The Weasel
03-02-2009, 22:13
A newbie asks a pretty reasonable question, and we treat her/him like they did something wrong?

There are a number of unwritten rules, most of which are violated fairly often:

- There is always room for someone in a storm
- Don't move/mess with someone else's stuff
- Don't cook inside the shelter unless weather is incredibly bad
- Don't kill mice
- Kill mice
- Clean your own mess
- No wet dogs in shelters
- No sex until everyone else leaves

Those are some.

TW

Ekul
03-02-2009, 22:15
[quote=The Weasel;793019]A newbie asks a pretty reasonable question, and we treat her/him like they did something wrong?

the only reason to be in a shelter

SGT Rock
03-02-2009, 22:18
A newbie asks a pretty reasonable question, and we treat her/him like they did something wrong?