PDA

View Full Version : I Need Help Starting a Hike For Charity

JohnnyQuest
05-20-2004, 10:16
Well, first of all, I'm new to this forum, so "Hello" to everyone. My reas on for posting? I'm planning on a 2005 thru-hike and I want it to benefit a charity, but I need help with getting it started.

I've been hanging around these boards for a few months now and I've noticed how a lot of people hike for different charities. I think this is a great idea (if you're going to be out on the trail anyway, why not help someone else), and I'm planning on doing my hike to benefit Baltimore's Public Schools, which are facing a $58 million defecit.

I need some help from those who've hiked for charities in the past. How did you go about getting sponsors? What's the best way to approach a corporation? Any help or insight you could provide would be immensely appreciated.

Post here, or e-mail me at [email protected] THANKS!

Lone Wolf
05-20-2004, 10:24
Check with the ATC. I think it's against the law to raise $ on the AT.

Blue Jay
05-20-2004, 11:10
Check with the ATC. I think it's against the law to raise $ on the AT.

That was unfair, now I have to work all day while laughing my A$$ off.

orangebug
05-20-2004, 12:35
I need some help from those who've hiked for charities in the past. How did you go about getting sponsors? What's the best way to approach a corporation? Any help or insight you could provide would be immensely appreciated.

If you have no track record of hiking or fund raising for charities, I doubt that you will find much interest from corporate sponsors or other donors. You might try to garner interest by actually partnering with the school system, although I doubt even a challenge campaign would do anything that substantially impacts a public school system's budget. I'd recommend that you become involved with volunteer activities and civic groups on a routine basis, rather than expect a thru hike to be a successful fund raising activity.

Bill...

steve hiker