PDA

View Full Version : Coleman hooligan

The_RD_Less_Trvld
03-05-2009, 14:43
I'm new to backpacking and I currently have a Coleman hooligan 8' x 4' tent and I was wondering if anyone has carried this tent and how well it ha worked for them?

Manwich
03-05-2009, 14:51
Egad No! 8lbs? That weighs more than a lot of people's Pack+Tent+Sleeping Bag+Sleeping Pad on here!

JAK
03-05-2009, 14:58
I got a 8 pound LLBean dome tent and it is strictly for backyard and car camping now.
But I would lug it if my wife ever decides to join us in the woods. Hell I'd lug a hot tub.

The_RD_Less_Trvld
03-05-2009, 15:01
I'm a college student with a very strict budget... can you recommend any inexpensive quality tents?

Manwich
03-05-2009, 15:03
Peruse the Selling Gear forums here.

Personally, I roll with a Sierra Designs ultra Light Year 2 that I got for $120

mlkelley
03-05-2009, 15:04
Sierra Designs Lightning, usually on sale somewhere. I/2 the weight of your Coleman.

MOWGLI
03-05-2009, 15:08
Look for a tent no heavier than 4 pounds. Carrying a 4 pound tent would horrify many here at Whiteblaze, but you're young, and that's better than 8 pounds. Sierra Designs does make some nice lightweight tents.

Good luck, and :welcome to Whiteblaze.

PS: I was married atop Hook Mountain in Upper Nyack. I love and miss Nyack. What a great little town!

JAK
03-05-2009, 15:11
Good name though. Most of the hooligans I've run into use coleman gear. lol

Manwich
03-05-2009, 15:12
Good name though. Most of the hooligans I've run into use coleman gear. lol

I was going to go with that but I figured be easy because he's new.

JAK
03-05-2009, 15:13
I'm a college student with a very strict budget... can you recommend any inexpensive quality tents?How tall are you? I use a poncho/tarp, as rain shell and shelter, but when I hike with my daughter we use her $20 6'x3' kids tent from Ozark Trails at Walmart. I'm 6'. I wouldn't recommend that route unless your under 5'10", or a dad.

The_RD_Less_Trvld