PDA

View Full Version : 9 days ... gear review

datachomper
03-07-2009, 01:12
So I'm a backpacking newbie, leaving for the AT mar 15th. If anybody needs a good laugh check out my gearlist. I'm sure I've made all the usual newbie mistakes.

Couple notes.
1) I'm still on the fence about the filter. Might just drink the water untreated. I grew up swimming in Tims Ford Lake, so I figure i've been pretty exposed to the nasties. I dunno.

2) Might ditch the pack towel (super absorbent sham-wow type). I have two bandanas. I was just a little worried because they are thin and not too absorbent. I am going to use the packtowel's container to hold tortillas though :O)

Wish I could have come in a bit lighter, but it'll lighten up by a few pounds once it warms up for good. :-?

freedompirate01
03-07-2009, 01:24
Wow cool list, i'm also getting ready and were both taking the same 3 out 4 of the first items you've listed. 8)

Looks like your pretty serious about saving weight, how come you haven't upgraded your tarp to SpinnUL? That would save you around 10 ounces.

datachomper
03-07-2009, 01:31
Wow cool list, i'm also getting ready and were both taking the same 3 out 4 of the first items you've listed. 8)

Looks like your pretty serious about saving weight, how come you haven't upgraded your tarp to SpinnUL? That would save you around 10 ounces.

I hadn't heard of SpinnUL, but I went back and looked and that tarp actually only weighs 15oz, instead of the 22oz listed. Woot! Free weight savings. I thought that looked heavy. It's actually the last thing I'm waiting on. Brian seems pretty busy.

maxNcathy
03-07-2009, 09:10
Have a great hike.
Look for Sandalwood on the Trail.
Sandalwood

Jeff
03-07-2009, 09:14
Water filter is a personal decision...but you will find most hikers using aquamira, iodine or chorine.

4eyedbuzzard
03-07-2009, 09:33