PDA

View Full Version : A WB (and Rick) thank you

The Scribe
05-21-2004, 08:40
morning list

Hope this doesn't come across as self-promotion. I am a teacher by trade but also work part time for the Lewiston Sun Journal, the third largest daily paper in Maine. I've been on the list since February I think and getting more and more into it. Been "into" the trail for years.

Earlier this month, Rick and his family invited me on an overnight hike to Cooper Brook Falls shelter. I can't thank him, and Tink, and Chris enough.

I put my thoughts on paper as I have an occasional column in the newspaper. It ran earlier this week but for some unknown reason, it was not posted to the paper's website. It appeared only in paper and ink. I was planning on posting the link here.

I have pasted it below (or a late draft of it that should be pretty much the same as what was printed):

My Turn

By Peter Mullen

I want to ask you a question. How many of you challenge yourself? How many of you do something that tests your mettle? How many take a chance? How many do things to make you grow?

And how many play it safe, take it easy, and not take chances?

Now, if you just did your first sky dive or bungee jump, I applaud you and admit this column might not be for you. If you’d rather stay in your comfort zone, maybe I can pique your interest enough to read on.

I am going through an interesting time right now. By late last fall I had little energy and experienced headaches that made me not want to crawl under a rock but to pick it up and bash myself with it to get away from the misery.

Since this column isn’t on the Advice page, I will spare you the gruesome details but suffice it to say, in the words of Judge Harry Stone’s father (John Astin) on Night Court, “I’m feeling much better now.”