PDA

View Full Version : Bivy Tents

tionesta72
03-09-2009, 13:24
I am relatively new to over-night hiking, but will be preparing for a 2010 thru-hike this summer. I'd like to know what what the veterans think about bivy tents. Any information would be great, thanks!

SunnyWalker
03-09-2009, 22:51
Check out Backpackinglight.com I have found articles and lots of info on bivis there. You have to do a search.

Shutterbug
03-10-2009, 17:21
I am relatively new to over-night hiking, but will be preparing for a 2010 thru-hike this summer. I'd like to know what what the veterans think about bivy tents. Any information would be great, thanks!

It probably isn't proper to use "bivy" and "tent" together. They are two different things.

I bought a bivy last year and used it in the Goat Rocks Wilderness of Washington. The great advantage is that it doesn't weigh much. Mine is less than 2 lb.

The disadvantge is that it provides minimal shelter. While I didn't experience heavy rain, I tried to envision how I would get in and out of the bivy in a heavy rain. I don't think it would be possible without getting the sleeping bag wet.

My conclusion was that I will use the bivy for summer weekend hikes to places I can't hang a hammock. If rain is likely, I will carry a tent or a hammock. I wouldn't recommend a bivy for a thru hike.

johnnybgood
03-10-2009, 17:39
Bivy tents are more geared for those younger and with better dexterity going in feet first . The knock on Bivys is that they are cramped with close quarters and not easy to enter or exit.

Tipi Walter
03-10-2009, 20:37
It probably isn't proper to use "bivy" and "tent" together. They are two different things.