PDA

View Full Version : How do you organize your gear?

greginmi
03-12-2009, 11:26
I'm new to backpacking and getting ready to do some hiking with my son in Boy Scouts. We will be doing multiple weekend hikes with a couple 10-14 day hikes planned for Philmont Scout Ranch and Isle Royale over the next couple years.

I'm curious how others organize the inside of their packs? I'm an engineer and have to keep things neat and organized. I don't want to be digging around looking for small items at the bottom of my bag.

I've got people recommending options like 1-2 gallon ziplock bags to compression sacks for everything.

My logic says a mixture of compression sacks for sleeping bag and base/middle layers. I like the idea of ditty bags for the non-compressible items like food/cooking gear and miscellanous stuff.

Ziplock bags always seem to have a habit of expanding when used to compress things like clothes. Also, I plan to fit my outerlayers (fleece and wool) in the remaining open space since compressing them would compromize their insulation capabilities.

Thoughts and feedback much appreciated.

Regards,
Greg

4eyedbuzzard
03-12-2009, 11:36
Compression sacks are heavy (relatively to regular sacks) and can actually kind of "overcompress" sleeping bags. If you do use one be EXTRA careful that you get your bag out of it ASAP at camp to allow it time to reloft, and especially after getting back home. I use a silnylon stuff sack with fleece on one side that doubles as a pillow, but many hikers actually just compress their sleeping bag into a waterproof plastic bag at the bottom of their packs and then let it "loft" a bit against whatever else they are carrying to help fill up pack space.