PDA

View Full Version : Double wide sleeping bags

wrongway_08
03-13-2009, 16:59
Any of you use a double wide bag when couple camping?

Not two small bags zipped together but a real double wide.

20 degree bag is what Im looking for, down is fine or syn..

Checking on the net but getting cheap ones and I dont want to carry a 6 or 7 pound bag around. Any of you tried any that you really liked?

Thanks,
- Rick

puddingboy
03-13-2009, 17:00
How exactly do you zip two together?

superman
03-13-2009, 17:17
I have a 0,20 and a 40 degree down rectangular LL Bean sleeping bags. They all zip together but they are usually too hot. A passed thru hiker gave me the address of a place in Florida to get zippers that would mate with what we have. Pat sew'd a zipper to light weight rip stop material that she made the same size as the bags. We use the rip stop material underneath us zipped to the sleeping bag. We usually only carry one bag. We put the sleeping pads inside the double size bag. While it keeps the pads from walking around the big reason is...one person can't cacoon and leave me without anything over me.:)

wrongway_08
03-13-2009, 19:14

I dont wanna do that. I want a extra wide with just the one side zip.

My Montbells are both mummys, so that wouldnt work so well anyways.

wrongway_08
03-13-2009, 19:26
Found this Marmot Down Yurt bag. 40 degree bag, should be enough considering two people in it together would heat up pretty fast.

http://src.marmot.com/web/s09/detail/2066_7243.jpg Ideal Uses

Backpacking / Hiking

Specs Weight:3 lb 12 ozs / 1.701 kgsFill Weight:0 ozs / 0 gMain Material: Tilt 2.4 oz 100% Polyester DWRLining Material: Glide 2.4 oz 100% Polyester WR TaffetaInsulation Material: 600+ Fill Goose DownSizes:0'0"Colors:7243 - Carob/Hemlock

Features

Full-length Zip Around Zipper
Opens to Queen-size Comforter
Stitch-through Construction

stumpknocker
03-13-2009, 19:35