PDA

View Full Version : 100 Hiker Challenge

Pages : [1] 2

Taba
03-15-2009, 21:36
I am a professional hiker with several long distance trails on my resume. I was the 13th hiker to finish the Mountains-to-Sea Trail in North Carolina last year. It was either last year or the year before that the Appalachian Trail finishers hit the 10,000 mark. I am challenging 100 of those hikers or any hiker to join me on the Mountains-to-Sea Trail this year. It is a wonderful alternative to the Appalachian Trail and about 42.8% of the total distance. Once you have done the AT what's next. Grab your backpack and come out with me. I will be hiking the MST both directions this time from May to November. It will take 3 months to go each way. I have written a thru-hiker's manual for the trail so I know the trail and know where to go in town. Hiking the MST is a different experience that everybody should enjoy.

Help me help the Mountains-to-Sea Trail. I would love to see at least 100 people out for this challenge.

Taba

http://trailplace.com/forums/images/misc/progress.gif

theinfamousj
03-15-2009, 22:53
Can I count if I section hike it around my school breaks? What section do you recommend for a four day/three night trip?

4eyedbuzzard
03-15-2009, 22:58
What exactly is a professional hiker? :confused:

Lilred
03-15-2009, 23:07

I want to be a professional hiker. Does it pay well?

cupid
03-15-2009, 23:09
I think that as long as you think you're good at hiking you are a "professional" hiker.

Feral Bill
03-15-2009, 23:26
I think that as long as you think you're good at hiking you are a "professional" hiker.

Nothing wrong with being talented, experienced, etc, but professional means paid.

Mags
03-15-2009, 23:46