PDA

View Full Version : Getting The Pack To Georgia

Young Scott
03-18-2009, 22:49
I'm flying down to Atlanta on the 31st to begin my thru-hike. I've been looking at my pack and wondering how I can get that to Georgia. :-? Not carry on, of course, but still on a plane.
Please help!

4eyedbuzzard
03-18-2009, 22:54
Uh, check it as baggage?

Buy a cheap old duffle big enough to hold it from a thrift store or Salvation Army or something and just check it. Throw the duffle bag away when you get there.

Egads
03-18-2009, 22:56
Pack your backpack in a duffel and check it at the airlines. Carry your high dollar items like your down bag with you on the plane. Buy your fuel and other non-TSA approved items at REI, the outfitter at The Outside World, or Mountain Crossings on the way to the trail.

These are simple logistics; how you gonna manage the hike?:rolleyes:

Young Scott
03-18-2009, 22:58
Okay. I'm new to flying...

Egads
03-18-2009, 23:00
Welcome to Whiteblaze

Banned TSA Items http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtravel/prohibited/permitted-prohibited-items.shtm

Have a great hike

Pokey2006
03-18-2009, 23:00
If you're new to flying, go to www.tsa.gov (http://www.tsa.gov) for info on their rules about what you can and can't carry on, etc.

Don't worry, the trail itself is simple. Just put one foot in front of the other.

The Weasel
03-18-2009, 23:02
Unpack everything from your pack. Put in large box. Tape shut. Check as baggage.

TW

Young Scott
03-18-2009, 23:04
Thank you.

Egads
03-18-2009, 23:07
I have shipped my gear ahead to a friend's house via UPS / Fed-X about 2 weeks before my arrival and carried my down with me on prior trips out west.

Lost luggage will delay or kill a hike.

freefall
03-18-2009, 23:11
I mailed half of my pack (stove, food, etc... they have alcohol fuel there) to the Hiker Hostel in Dalhonega (sp), GA. The rest I could carry on and did not have to worry about starting the trip with lost luggage.

Ox97GaMe
03-19-2009, 09:32