PDA

View Full Version : Hiking for Charity

Unclegorb
03-20-2009, 10:31
Hey everybody, I just wanted to share this link with you and encourage everyone to spread the word to others who may be interested in donating. We've put a lot of work into the website and thought it might inspire some hikers on the forum.

Thanks so much...

http://www.1stepadventure.com

buzzamania
03-20-2009, 10:40
Does any of the 2175 go to administrative costs of running the website or does it all go the Kidney foundation? Thanks.

Unclegorb
03-20-2009, 10:43
EVERYTHING goes to charity. I'm a web designer and built the site in my free time.

jesse
03-20-2009, 10:49
I would only give the money directly to the Kidney foundation. You are probably an honest person, but you are a stranger. I'm not intrested in financing someone else's hike, or stocking up their gear closet. In other words. How do we know that all the money goes to charity.

Freeleo
03-20-2009, 10:51

Unclegorb
03-20-2009, 11:15
Well, becuase I don't need your money...But, the Kidney Foundation and American Heart Association do. This charity was started to benefit our fathers who have been affected by kidney and heart disease. And I can assure you that I would never disrespct my father in such a way, as to use his disease to raise money for my hike (thats pretty low).

So, there really isn't a way to KNOW that all the money is going to charity, but I would say it would pretty stupid for me and my hiking partner to run a "scam" and then post our names and photographs on the website. Not to mention the last 5 months we've spent building and designing the thing...thats a lot of time and effort for only $2,175 dollars.