PDA

View Full Version : Tortellini on the trail

NashvilleBiscuit
03-24-2009, 10:46
Had dinner at a friends house last night. They made tortellini soup. The soup looked like something that could be made while hiking. It was as simple as adding the ingredients into boiling water along with some seasonings. Anybody ever cooked with tortellini on the trail? Got any good recipe's or reasons I shouldn't try?

Gorp-Gobbler
03-24-2009, 11:05
Had dinner at a friends house last night. They made tortellini soup. The soup looked like something that could be made while hiking. It was as simple as adding the ingredients into boiling water along with some seasonings. Anybody ever cooked with tortellini on the trail? Got any good recipe's or reasons I shouldn't try?

Being a certified chef I see no reason NOT to try it.
Experiment with it at home on your hiking stove and try adding various spices and herbs until you find one or a combination of some that strike your taste buds. Don't be afraid to try other additives like beef sticks, crumpled up chips, or bouillion cubes.:D

sarbar
03-24-2009, 11:09
It works well. Barilla makes tasty ones and they cook faster than many. They don't always need the time on the package either. You can boil half the time called for and cozy the rest of the time.

If you want to add dried vegetables, etc add everything but the pasta to water in your pot. Let it soak for 10 or so minutes, then bring to a boil, drop in the pasta, cook and then enjoy!

MintakaCat
03-24-2009, 11:11
I like this recipe:

Pasta & Salmon

Servings: 1
Preperation Time: 10-15 MIN

Recipe:
1/4 pkg Bertolini spinach and cheese tortelini
1 foil pkg salmon (3oz)
1/4 c. parmesan cheese
seasoned salt
garlic
olive oil

Cook tortelini according to directions, using enough water to cover the tortelini about 1 inch, aprox 8-10 minutes, drain.

Put tortelini in another bowl and cover. In pot, heat olive oil, salt, garlic to taste with salmon til warmed.