PDA

View Full Version : Cool Towns

Speakeasy
03-26-2009, 17:42
Hi - I'm new to WB and currently planning a thru-hike for March 2010. I'm trying to plan "town days" ie Neels Gap, Fontana Dam, Newfound Gap. I'm figuring town layovers every 5 or 6 days and any tips as to "good places" to stop or "places to avoid" would be greatly appreciated. I would also like to connect with anyone planning a hike next year...:rolleyes:

flemdawg1
03-26-2009, 17:55
All towns suck. They're like shelters, except w/ more of them, w/ greedy business owners and dogs.

mlkelley
03-26-2009, 17:56
I found Hot Springs to be a cool little town. :welcome

garlic08
03-26-2009, 18:39
None of those places you listed are really town stops. Neels Gap has a small store and hostel, Fontana is a resort village I didn't go to, and Newfound Gap is good place to avoid going to Gatlinburg.

The real trail towns, the ones right on the trail, can be great fun if you're in the mood, like Hot Springs, Damascus, etc, and if you have money. Try not to pass up Franklin, NC (off trail but worth the hitch) and avail yourself of Ron Haven's hospitality. The New England towns (Kent, Salisbury) can get pretty expensive, especially if you get up there during fall leaf season.

Slimer
03-26-2009, 18:59
Personally, I would skip Kent due to the high prices and excessive snobbery.
This is just my opinion and observation.

Jeff
03-26-2009, 19:04
Manchester Center, VT is not your typical trail town, but it has everything a hiker needs: Laundramat, 2 outfitters, movie theater, pizza shops, bookstore, groceries for long term resupply and hostel!!!

attroll
03-26-2009, 19:05
Nrvana