PDA

View Full Version : SD Lightning XT 1 vs MSR HUBBA

cashout
04-03-2009, 14:15
I am in the market for a double wall solo tent for a section hike (Georgia to TN) of the AT during rainy season and like both the Sierra Designs Lightning XP 1 and of course the always popular Hubba. I have no experience with the SD so looking for any feedback. For me, the cons of the Hubba are width and color.

Here are my personal cons with the Hubba after trying it out:

Width:
Too narrow for me 26" (touch the side walls while flat on my back, and I turn frequently at night. Does seem to feel like a coffin. I am a little bigger than the average joe.

Color:
I frequently like to stealth camp away from shelters (and mice) so the bright colors don’t suit me.

Pros:
-I love the design of the Hubba. Good “true usable” 38” headroom, head doesn't brush top of tent due to cross pole design unlike the Seedhouse SL1 where my head touches the ceiling although the point of the ceiling is measured at 38”.
-Very large Vestible (around 9sq feet)
-Large Front entrance
-Extremely good record of keeping dry during heavy downpour

Based on the stats for the SD Lightning, both tents are the same weight 2lbs 15oz. The SD is shorter in length at 83’ compared to the Hubba’s 86” in length but the SD is wider by 6 inches (32”) I am 6’ tall so that still leaves me 9 inches in length

What I would like to know for anyone who has used the SD Lightning XP 1 is how does the headroom, pole design and overall quality compare to the Hubba.

Thank you in advance!

reddenbacher
04-03-2009, 14:42
the hubba is far more rugged.great tent.have seen a lot of poblems with sd

bruchko
04-03-2009, 14:48
Here's another one to consider. I took this out in the rain in Tennessee a few weeks ago and it performed very well. Weighs in just under 2 pounds and sets up so quickly.

http://www.bigagnes.com/Products/Detail/Tent/FlyCreekUL1

Franco
04-03-2009, 18:09
hidden clue from the OP :