PDA

View Full Version : Moved from Straight Forward: Hiking the smokies

Wesley Russelburg
04-07-2009, 12:22
I am fairly new to hiking and was wondering if anyone had any information to help me hike the smoky mountain section of the trail. Maybe some tips on where to stay, what to eat, and where to go for the best hiking experience. I have done a lot of research and I have a pretty good idea, but I was just looking to get some information from some one who has hiked that section before.

Kanati
04-07-2009, 14:47
There are so many great trails it hard to pick one, but if I was 18, I would probably begin by camping in one of the campgrounds in the Smokies, and I would probably choose Cades Cove because it is easy to get to from KY without going thru Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. You may need a reservation, so check first. From CC you can take trails near the entrance, or you can go north on Little River road toward Gatlinburg and turn right into the Tremont road. At the end of the road there is a parking lot and an old logging road/horse trail that crosses the creek. If you stay on this, You can go to a couple of different hiking trails. The middle prong/greenbriar trail, (8 miles), will get you to the A.T. 0.3 miles north of Derek Knob shelter. That is a nice shelter with a very good spring in back of it. From there you can hike the A.T. north 18 miles past Clingmans Dome to Newfound Gap. There are a couple of shelters between Derrek Knob and Newfound Gap. From NF Gap you can continue on the A.T. a short distance then turn left toward Mt. LeConte where you can stay or continue northwest to Alum Cave Bluffs then on to hwy 441.

This will get you started and once there you may change your mind and take different trails. But, whatever trails you take, you will not be disappointed. Don't forget your shelter permit which you can get at the Sugarlands visitor center, or it may be available on-line, but I don't know that for sure.

Happy Hiking. :sun

Wesley Russelburg