PDA

View Full Version : Help a newbie: Info for a two week hike?

eramos
04-07-2009, 19:51
Hey everyone. Hiking the AT is something I've wanted to do for a while, but unfortunately I can't devote the full amount of time I'd need to do it, so I'd like to do maybe 2 weeks of hiking sometime in June or July. But other than that, I'm a complete beginner to hiking (I've got absolutely no equipment, for example), so I have some questions -- I notice there's no sticky or anything, is there a good place to learn a bunch of the basics other than reading the thousands of threads on this site (It's so big -- that's not what she said)

Also, what's the absolute minimum I could get away with spending for 2 weeks on the trail? I wouldn't mind spending more if it was the full hike, but I can't afford to spend a ton of money on stuff I will use once. I have a feeling this will kill my idea before it gets off the ground.

Thanks!

MJN
04-07-2009, 20:09
i would deffinatly get used gear or use ebay. i got all of my gear for probably about 300$. i got a 3 lb tent for 25$ on ebay, and a used internalframe pack that is in perfect condition for 75$, aleutian 20 degree sleeping bag for 50$. the boots were the most expensive at 150$, and sleeping pad for 5$.

Hooch
04-07-2009, 20:19
There are plenty of places for cheap gear. Keep an eye out here on WB for folks selling used gear. As a matter of fact, there's a forum (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=69) here dedicated to it entirely. Also, keep an eye out at cheap gear places like Steep and Cheap, Campmor, Campsaver, etc. Also, check places like eBay and Craigslist. I'd also recommend reading SGT Rock's article, How To Dirt Bag and Deal Shop Like A Professional (http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?p=206678#post206678). There is a lot of good advice there. Good luck gearing up! And :welcome to WhiteBlaze.

johnnybgood
04-07-2009, 20:30
First off :welcome to WhiteBlaze.