PDA

View Full Version : A few gear questions

Lemming Fleming
04-08-2009, 05:30
Hi there,
I'm doing a section hike from rockfish gap to harpers ferry, I'm hoping to do it in 12 days, I wouldn't say I'm a complete novice to hiking or camping but I've never really done anything like this and have a few questions.

1) Is my target feasible for a first timer?

2) There was two of us originally but now only me, I bought an msr hubba hubba hp for us both but now am wondering if I should get a one man tent? I can't really afford another one so close to the trip but am I being a fool taking a 2 man tent?

3) Steripen? yay or nay?

4) MSR pocket rocket? yay or nay? And also are they universal with regard to the canisters they use or do they have to be MSR specific?

5) For 2 weeks how many canisters would you carry? Oatmeal and a coffee for breakfast, snack through the day and noodles / rice etc.. for dinner.

6) How frequent are the water sources in SNP and in between harpers ferry and how much should I carry?

7) And what are the regulations for camping in SNP, has it got to be at or around shelter or are you free to camp wherever?

8) Will I get eaten by a bear? :)

Thanks

bigcranky
04-08-2009, 08:06
12 days is reasonable. A two-person tent is fine -- you'll actually appreciate the extra room. If you already own the Steripen, bring it, but bring plenty of batteries. (If not, try Aqua Mira.) The Pocket Rocket is a good stove, and can use any commonly available canister. I would start with one 8-ounce canister and buy another one in Front Royal (where I would also resupply my food.) Water is everywhere in SNP. Camping regs are pretty specific, so get a copy of the rules when you get there. It's not a big deal though. Only about 1 in 6 hikers gets eaten by a bear on any given trip.

McKeever
04-08-2009, 08:12