PDA

View Full Version : Nest & No Sniveling quilts - little help pls?

Goalkeeper31
06-03-2004, 12:32
Need some explanation (and pics would be helpful! :D ) on these two. I poked around a bit, but I'm still not really clear on this.

If I get it right:
* the "Nest" is the Peter Pan/Smee Underquilt.

* the "No Sniveling" quilt is an "over" quilt (?). Who makes it? Is it a one-off of Sgt. Rock's making?

Thanks. I hope I'm not a total noob :bse .

SGT Rock
06-03-2004, 12:50
There are pics in the site's photo section.

Both quilts are made by Jacks are Better (Peter Pan and Smee). They weigh approximately 18.2 ounces and come with a 0.6 ounce stuff sack and a set of 1.0 ounce elastic suspension cords (I have not weighed the newest version of the cord)

Basically it is a DWR shell with 1.5" loft using 800 fill goose down. The both have a velcro system to form a foot box so they can be used as a 40 degree quilt. They both have a system of holes or slits that allow you to use them as your cold weathr clothing as well. The basic idea is you are either in or out of your hammock. While you are in it you don't need a down vest, so the quilt goes under the hammock, and when you are out of the hammock you really don't need the quilt under there, so you can use them as a piece of down insulation.

The main difference is the Nest has a slit that goes over the opening for easy entry which also allows the quilt to be used as a vest. The No Sniveling Quilt is not a standard model yet as I understand it - I think they have only ever made two of them. The No Sniveling Quilt does not have a slit, just a head hole that closes with velcro. It is a little harder to get into the hammock with the NSQ, but it doubles as a poncho liner type clothing option.