PDA

View Full Version : Mushroom picking in NJ?

Sunfish
04-11-2009, 13:43
Hello, WB! New poster here out of Essex County, NJ. Planning to do some hiking this Sunday with my boyfriend and would like to know if wild mushrooms have started to grow in this area yet and where they can be found.

Thanks! :sun

zoidfu
04-11-2009, 13:44
I hate to burst your bubble but no mushroom picker is going to tell you where their hotspot is.

Sunfish
04-11-2009, 13:50
Well that's not very helpful, but thanks anyway.

zoidfu
04-11-2009, 13:56
I'm trying to use reverse psychology on them. Pickers are secretive maniacs and trickery is the only way you can get them to talk. If that fails, you take a walk in the woods and try to find pickers. Take note of their location and come back the next morning before the sun comes up. Take a weapon with you because they won't be happy.

I'm a veteran of the Morel Wars.

YoungMoose
04-11-2009, 14:19
not to be mean but are you dumb. Just last year 3 people died becuase they ate a wild mushroom. i dont care if you know what type it is. the soil can still be contaminated.

zoidfu
04-11-2009, 14:26
not to be mean but are you dumb. Just last year 3 people died becuase they ate a wild mushroom. i dont care if you know what type it is. the soil can still be contaminated.

Why eat anything then?

warraghiyagey
04-11-2009, 15:31
While there are a few sure bets with wild mushrooms, I leave you with this. . . the highest percentage of mushroom fatalities in the world are 'mushroom experts.' Choose carefully.:)

kayak karl
04-11-2009, 17:02
Hello, WB! New poster here out of Essex County, NJ. Planning to do some hiking this Sunday with my boyfriend and would like to know if wild mushrooms have started to grow in this area yet and where they can be found.

Thanks! :sun
i met a Princeton professor in the pines picking mushrooms. he grew up in Italy. said they have a saying.