PDA

View Full Version : 3-Week Section Hike around PA/NY/CT area - suggestions??

amdiv
04-12-2009, 00:33
I'm kicking off my first of 2K miles with a 3week section hike and am taking suggestions on where to plan it. I live in CT but would like to go NOBO from the MD/PA area and I figure I could get a good 250 miles in. Being an AT noob I'm thinking to drop off near Harrisburg PA and "walk home." This ignores all other factors besides averaging 10-14 miles a day and having 3 weeks...

I figure NOBO would help even out the weather and PA would be a flat place to start. Getting to the trail from Harrisburg doesn't seem too bad either...2-5 miles?

Any thoughts on where EXACTLY to start or why my plan is terrible???

sasquatch2014
04-12-2009, 07:49
As a self proclaimed noob you may not know about the dreaded PA rocks. While you are right in that the trail is mostly on ridges in PA there is about an 80 or so mile stretch that has some of the most talked about rocks on the trail. You may want to start with a section that won't have you cursing it with in the week.

Keep in mind that all parts of the trail can have rocky areas but most stop after a bit. Think about jumping on at the Water Gap NJ/PA line and go north from there back into CT. Most of the trail will be pretty clear of blow downs. There will be some rock some good ridge walks a few decent climbs for a noob and just all in all a nice section of trail to cut your teeth on. Plus if you find yourself going slower than you though there are tons of ways for you still to get off the trail and back home easy enough.

Alaskanhkr23
04-12-2009, 12:35
im doing CT to border of VT,hope to see someone on the freakin trail danmit LOL

ki0eh
04-12-2009, 14:31