PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions?

JHL
04-22-2009, 23:26
So I am a newb here and a newb to the hiking scene, but by no means a newb to the outdoor/camping scene. I am graduating from college this May and wanted to take some time off before getting a job and do some hiking along the AT and need some suggestions. I have been combing the threads here and have learned a lot from other sites too, but the wealth of knowledge here seems to be too much to resist asking for some suggestions.
So my restrictions aren't very great, that is i dont really have any time restraints or deadlines to reach. I would like to start late may in maryland and hike through june. So what would you all recommend? Should I go north or South if I am looking for good views and good fishing? I was thinking about hitting the Shenandoahs and so on, but just wanted to see whether people here think north is the way to go.
Also I don't read a whole lot about hikers that bring fly rods. Are there any good fishing spots along the AT that anyone would recommend, or should I leave the rod at home?
Thanks all!
Jake

Ox97GaMe
04-23-2009, 01:02
Jake,
you may be able to find fishing places along the AT, but they will be few and far between. The AT was built on the ridgeline, so you dont see many steams. The trail does descend occassionally to cross a river or stream, usually via a road bridge.

Most hikers dont take a rod with them, as they are focusing on getting distance covered, not drowning worms. And the rod is deemed as excessive weight to be carrying on a thru hike.

The other thing to remember is that you would need to get a fishing license for each state that you were hiking through. If you get stopped by a game warden, it wont matter whether you actually fished or are just carrying the rod. Possession is 9/10th of the law. Having it means you COULD use it, and would therefore be required to show the permit if asked.

Engine
04-23-2009, 05:57