PDA

View Full Version : What temp rating for start of thru hike in march?

hawkeye
04-23-2009, 15:35
Hi, I have a montbell 25 degree bag with 800 down now. Will this be good for the beginning of a thru hike starting in mid- March? Any suggestions on a bag to use? (I'm starting to plan now for maybe next year!)
Greg

JAK
04-23-2009, 16:41
It would be nice if it were, because being good quality it is probably light enough that you could use it right through without trading down. How roomy is it? On one hand if it is somewhat roomy on you that effectively makes it colder, but on the other hand if it is roomy that's a good thing because you could sneak a wool liner in there for the first couple of months and then ditch it when the warm weather comes, and the extra roominess will be cooler and more comfy midsummer.

JAK
04-23-2009, 16:41
How cold have you tested it to?

hawkeye
04-23-2009, 16:45
I have the Super Stretch Down Hugger model. It gives me room when I move but then wraps around me. pretty nice. I was figuring to used my PuffBall jacket it it got real cold. Hate to buy a 15 degree bag if I don't have to.
Greg

Grinder
04-23-2009, 16:45
I'm just back from a section hike in NC from GA line

I have a 24 degree bag. It was in the teens two nights. I didn't die, but shivered.

I vote for 0 degree rating

hawkeye
04-23-2009, 16:48
How cold have you tested it to?

T used it in the low 40's. This weekend my son's Scout troop is having a sleepover and I get to tent out, but the temps are going to be in the high 40's to mid 50's at night.

JAK
04-23-2009, 16:49
So it can get that cold, even in April.
So hawkeye, have you had a chance to test it into the teens?

JAK
04-23-2009, 16:52
I posted too soon.
You probably still have time to test it into the teens this Spring. If not then next Fall.

Consider a wool liner as a booster also, rather than a down vest.
Wool has certain qualities which I think work well inside of a down bag.

hawkeye
04-23-2009, 16:54